Swilled Dog Wins DISCUS Dave Pickerell Memorial Craft Member of the Year Award

Swilled Dog was honored to receive the coveted 2024 Dave Pickerell Memorial Craft Member of the Year award from the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States at their annual conference. This award is in memory of Dave Pickerell, the “Johnny Appleseed of craft distilling” and is awarded to a DISCUS Craft Member who has been a leader in advocating for the needs of the craft distiller community and supporting the association. 

Swilled Dog’s CEO and Co-Founder Brooke Glover accepted the award during a ceremony at the USS Midway in San Diego, California on March 5, 2024. 

“We are proud to play a role in supporting the needs of craft distillers in West Virginia and beyond,” says Brooke Glover, Co-Founder & CEO of Swilled Dog. “This accolade is a testament to our passion for the craft and our continuous efforts to contribute positively to the spirits community. Cheers to Swilled Dog and the entire team for this remarkable achievement!”

Swilled Dog was recognized for its support of the industry in West Virginia and across the United States. Brooke serves as a member of the DISCUS Craft Distiller Advisory Council where she represents craft distillers’ positions on key policy issues at the federal, state and local levels. Brooke has been instrumental in helping DISCUS advocate for  priority policies  including the permanent removal of retaliatory tariffs on American Whiskey and increased access and fairer tax treatment of spirits ready-to-drink products. Her advocacy on spirits issues has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Forbes Magazine, CNBC and Fox Business.

More than 700 spirit industry professionals and media joined DISCUS in honoring select industry leaders at their conference last week. In addition to the Dave Pickerell Memorial Craft Member of the Year Award, DISCUS presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Jim Bareuther, former Chief Operating Officer at Brown-Forman, Impact Award for Emerging Leaders to Arielle Pierre, Associate Manager of Inclusion, Diversity & Equity (IDE) at Moët Hennessy USA; DEI Leadership Award to Hillary Wirtz, Senior Director Culture & Inclusion, Breakthru Beverage; and the Top Shelf Award to Senator Bill Dodd, (D-CA). For more information, visit www.distilledspirits.org.